2022 Asahi Prize 4 people selected

Asahi Shimbun Co., Ltd.
2022 Asahi Prize 4 people selected
Presentation of bronze statue and 5 million yen

Asahi Shimbun Co., Ltd. (President: Shiro Nakamura) and Asahi Shimbun Cultural Foundation (Chairman: same) announced on January 1, 2023 that they have decided on the winners of the 2022 Asahi Prize. I will. We would like to ask for your cooperation in taking it up in your company’s media. Winners will receive a bronze statue of the main prize and a supplementary prize (5 million yen each). The presentation ceremony will be held on January 27, 2023 (Friday) in Tokyo, jointly with the “Osaragi Jiro Award”, “Osaragi Jiro Award”, “Asahi Sports Award”.
The Asahi Prize was established by the head office in 1929 with the purpose of presenting it to individuals or groups that have made outstanding contributions to the development and improvement of Japan’s culture and society through outstanding achievements in fields such as science and art. Currently, the Asahi Shimbun Cultural Foundation has taken over the project (please use the Asahi Shimbun Cultural Foundation when writing the name of the organizer). 2022 Asahi Prize winners (4 people) Titles omitted, no particular order, numbers are ages as of January 1, 2023
■ Miyako Ishiuchi (75) Photographer
“Achievement of photographic expression that continues to face memory and time” ■ Kojin Karatani (81), philosopher and critic
“Sensitive Literary Criticism and the International Spread of Unique Philosophy” ■ Makoto Fujita (65) Distinguished Professor at the University of Tokyo “Creation of nanospace materials by self-organization and their application” ■ Hiroyuki Mano (63) Director, National Cancer Center Research Institute “Discovery of Lung Cancer Fusion Gene and Leading Cancer Genomic Medicine” [Image 1

◇ Selection Committee
[External] Masanori Aoyagi (President of Tama Art University), Toyo Ito (Architect), Chizuko Ueno (Sociologist), Takaaki Kajita (President of Science Council of Japan), Hiroyuki Sakaki (President of Nara National University Organization), Keiji Tanaka (Tokyo Metropolitan Medical Research Institute) Chairman of the Board) Hideki Noda (playwright, director, actor) [Internal] Shiro Nakamura (Chairman of Asahi Shimbun Cultural Foundation, President of Asahi Shimbun) Masaru Tsunoda (Managing Director and Editor of Asahi Shimbun)
[Image 2d9214-1420-a1233469d2220d02896d-5.jpg&s3=9214-1420-74c2083f700d49d92d6702ca3a9c991e-105x245.jpg
Bronze statue of the positive award
*Introduction of the winners and achievements will be published in the morning edition of the Asahi Shimbun on January 1, 2023.
Asahi Shimbun CSR Promotion Department “Asahi Award” Secretariat 5-3-2 Tsukiji, Chuo-ku, Tokyo 104-8011
TEL 03-5540-7453 FAX 03-3541-8999 (10:00-17:00 on weekdays, closed until January 3rd) E-mail address csr-t@asahi.com
Details about this release:


%d bloggers like this: